The Progression of Education, Knowledge, and Self…

The more I sit in classes reading classic texts and engaging in academic discourse I seem to teeter back and forth between two ideas, that being the fact that I am but one of thousands, upon millions, upon possibly billions, to have read and thought critically on these issues, and the other idea is more of a sentiment, I can’t imagine ever contributing anything to this world anywhere near the magnitude of Plato, Shakespeare, Dickens, Twain, Nietzsche, etc. I guess that is one of the things that keeps me up at night. I, myself, have nearly every opportunity to make the biggest impact on my community and world as I am able to. There lies my qualm… Do I have the ability to enact and implement the change and impact I wish to see?

Though, these thoughts seem negative and somewhat dreary, they are in fact that thoughts that I feel necessary and integral to forward progess and to the motivation to push further and harder. These are the critical thoughts that one must need to ponder in order to fulfill and see their full potential come to fuition.

These are the things I think on. So, that being said, make your own future!

-TQ

Comments
One Response to “The Progression of Education, Knowledge, and Self…”
  1. Don’t worry about comparing yourself to Milton or the other writers. We’re of a different time, and we’ll make different impacts on the world. All you can do is write and read prolifically, if you want to be a writer. You can make the change you want to see if you’re passionate about an issue. Don’t be too hard on yourself, just do everything you can and try to inspire others.

Leave a Reply

