Beyonce: The Beyond Overrated

Am I the only person on the face of the planet that feels Beyonce is beyond mediocre?

Every single song I hear by her sounds exactly as the one I heard before it. Additionally, she offers nothing that is necessarily original. As a musician myself and avid lover of pop music, I have a critical ear for musicianship, as such, I am not the hugest fan of this current craze for hip hop and rap. Just because I enjoy musicianship does not mean that I see it fit to denounce all of the aforementioned music. However, I do see it fit to point out over-celebrated mediocrity.

The sticker here is that I feel as though I must be missing something. The music industry and record sales, etc. seem to know something or hear something that I don’t. She won six Grammys last night. It is just befuddling to me what people see in her. She has a decent voice and a pretty face. But, she is being hailed as a revolution for the music industry.

If anyone agrees or disagrees, please let me know your thoughts. I am eager for someone to illuminate this issue for me.

Comments
2 Responses to “Beyonce: The Beyond Overrated”
  1. Steve says:

    I agree completely! I mean, she’s not bad, but she’s not great either. Unfortunately, I think that is the case with most of the music industry… it’s not about making good art, just making money :-/

  2. Michelle says:

    I actually love her. As a singer myself, the girl can blow! I love listening to her when I need to get my groove on, and it is interesting to see a female superstar who writes her own stuff. I am not saying I love every song, but I do like a lot of them. I think she pushes the envelope of the genre. She introduces classical elements into her singing as well as some raunchy beats. I likey.

Leave a Reply

