You’re A Real Class Act!

Class (adj): elegance, grace, or dignity, as in dress and behavior

This is a concept I see to be lacking in our present society. There is a time a place for everything, but why, oh why, does it appear that our society seems to be on a violent downturn? This blog may make me sound like an elderly curmudgeon, but, frankly, I don’t give a damn. <<< Indeed, that was a reference to a time when it seems to me things were much classier and things like respect, dignity, and integrity were valued, to be sought and maintained by all of society. Ironic, I choose to make a reference to that famous quote in particular, for that quote itself caused an immense uproar when the movie Gone with the Wind (1939) was released. That statement was too profane and caused a large ruckus in the film industry.

Need I Say More?

However;

I speak of a time when no one exposed their underwear in public.

I speak of a time when people took pride in what they looked like when leaving their home.

I speak of a time when you fought with your fists, not guns, and yet shook the others’ hand afterward.

I speak of a time when to use profanity in public would incite astonishment and sheer shock.

I speak of a time when even making a indirect reference to the mistreatment of women would ruin one’s career, not sell records.

I speak of a time when all seemed to be held to a higher standard. It saddens me that as a parent, I will have to be the world’s best virus protection program/spamware program/filter just so that my children won’t be robbed of an innocent childhood, which I feel everyone has a right to, just as they do the right to breathe.

The questions is; What can you do?

Answer: Nothing.

There is really nothing one person can do, other than hold true to their own ideals. I will attempt to protect my children from the

Victoria's Secret is OUT!

growing indecency of society. I just hope my attempts to do so are not proved feeble by the pervasiveness of our instant-gratification/internet-crazed culture.

Instead of bringing “SexyBack” – I’m bringing “ClassyBack”

From this moment on;

I will no longer swear.

I will maintain an extremely presentable appearance when leaving my home.

I show and treat all with respect and decency.

I will take deep pride in my work and work-ethic.

And so on…

From this day on, Classy is coming back, one day, one step at a time.

Join me, it starts with you!

Comments
3 Responses to “You’re A Real Class Act!”
  1. Hung says:

    I do agree with you

  2. Chris says:

    Brilliant. I couldn’t agree more. Women look a lot better too when they cover up and dress elegantly instead of this new trend of show more skin because thats what guys want to see. A girl wearing nothing is a dime a dozen, however, one wearing a conservative outfit is pretty rare these days (sadly).

  3. Gabi says:

    I completely agree with you. With that said, I will just leave you with this quote from the Wear Suncreen song.

    “Accept certain inalienable truths, prices will rise, politicians will
    philander, you too will get old, and when you do you’ll fantasize
    that when you were young prices were reasonable, politicians were
    noble and children respected their elders.”

    Although this is not about fashion, respect, or pride. I think it reveals how we romanticize the past because it can just seem so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

