love’s final act

What sweet elixir long-last has ceased it effects,

Must the veil be pulled from what was so perfect?

My world was set euphoric upon your arrival,

My heart never knew its bounds before you,

But, now it prepares for a low unknown.

Hark! Help! Halt!

All hands on deck,

For life is raining,

The gutters flooding,

The arroyos overflowing,

The darkness and gloom of cupid’s unspoken effects,

Are upon my heart.

Leave the leaf be,

For nature is but nature,

With or without thee.

Tis the twilight of our affair,

Not for my voice to speak,

Whether twas right or fair.

I utter my last line,

I take my last bow,

The curtains close,

On what was my finest hour.

Come what may,

You will always be,

The first love for me.

Comments
4 Responses to “love’s final act”
  1. This is an excellent poem, and it perfectly describes how I felt after things were -really- over with me and my first love. I know how horrible it feels. But you will get better, and you and I are both really lucky to have experienced this, as much as it hurts to let go. Not everyone puts their heart out there to have this kind of relationship. This is why so many people are too afraid of really getting serious about anyone. They’re terrified of what just happened to you, but you’re the stronger one, and you have stories and memories that you will never forget. Hang in there. You’re going to be just fine. ❤

  2. Mark says:

    Depressing! 😦 Good poem though. Don’t worry though man, time heals all wounds…

  3. Sandra says:

    Tyler, what a beautiful poem. I am sorry to see you hurt so soon in life but know that there is someone out there that will treat you like a king as I know you treat women like queens so just hang in there. love you.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by UA Tweets, Tyler Quillin. Tyler Quillin said: love's final act: http://wp.me/pudOs-5E […]



Leave a Reply

