My Mothers, Yes There Are Two.

My mother is a woman with great intellectual aptitude and mental strength. She never ceases to amaze or impress me. From her humble beginnings in a trailer to graduating from a top-tier law school and becoming a city attorney, she is the definition of an inspirational success story. She has set the bar extremely high and offered me opportunities that she could only have dreamed of at my age. I love her and I thank her for all she has done. I wish there was more I could give or do to show her how much I appreciate everything she does for me, but my job right now is to take advantage of every single opportunity she has worked hard to give me. In time, I will show her how much it all means to me. I feel like every time I turn around she is sacrificing something for me. I am so touched by her selflessness when it comes to raising me. I will repay her one day and I only hope to be the same type of parent. I love her more than words can express.

My Stepmom, or Mama, as I call her. She has been a part of my life since before I can remember. Her powerful, yet playful personality has done a lot to shape the person I am today. Her ability to control a situation and empower others is unlike anything I have ever seen. Growing up in a house with a legitimate “leadership trainer” definitely made for some interesting talks surrounding the happenings in my young life. She would always ask the questions I needed to answer myself. I am happy to call myself a “leader” today in great part by her constantly instilling leadership lessons into my life. She taught me so much about leadership without explicitly doing so through lessons, etc.. She is like the Mrs. Miyagi of leadership. Wax on! Wax Off! I envy how giving, how fun, and how unique a perspective she has on life. Though we are not related by blood, she is as loving as any mother, she treats me as her own, and I am the luckiest person in the world to be able to call her my mother. My father and her work tirelessly to provide the same opportunities I spoke of above. I don’t know how to express my thanks or my appreciation other than taking advantage of everything I am provided, but one day I will.  I love her very much and could have never dreamed of a second mother as amazingly wonderful as she is.

Comments
One Response to “My Mothers, Yes There Are Two.”
  1. This is very sweet.

Leave a Reply

