Q’s Song of the Day: “The Only Child” – Jackson Browne

Q’s Song of the Day is entitled “The Only Child” by Jackson Browne

Today was my last of a long weekend back home in Las Vegas. This evening we celebrated my father’s birthday, which is coming up in a week or so this month. I made him Carne Asada Tacos with homemade tortillas, black beans, and rice. It was quite delicious and well liked by both my stepmom and father. I leave early tomorrow and return to Tucson.

It is always hard leaving. It makes me nostalgic for times past. Today’s selection comes from a mix CD my father gave me as I began my drive to college and into “manhood.” We’ve always shared a unique relationship through our love of music, which I have thanks to no one but him. As I left, I gave him a similar mix CD with songs that had particular importance to our relationship, i.e. songs we both associate with shared experiences. I find myself listening to these CDs he has made quite a bit of late. The messages in the songs are very powerful and move me, this one in particular.

This song is a father basically giving a grand overarching speech to impart unto his son all the wisdom he has to share. The lyrics are so true, touching, and resounding. Jackson Browne is one of my favorite singer/songwriters and one of the very few artists i can listen to at virtually any time in my life. I think that is in large part because of this song. This song holds a special place in my heart and mind because of the fact that my father put this on that mix CD, but also due to its sweet message.

There is something about a father-son relationship. I assume that as a father there is a need to, at some point in his son’s growth into a man, impart some worldly wisdom. Lucky for my parents, they put a lot of work in early and I had a good head on my shoulders since I can remember. That is not to say that I have not learned things that hard way, that is to say that I was spared much of the difficulties of youthful life due to great parenting. I digress, all I am saying is that there is something about that “talk” between a father and son about growing up, being your own man, and leading the life you want to lead. I am quite thankful and appreciative to a father who has never let me go astray.

Leave a Reply

